Evacuation orders expand to more NC counties due to Hurricane Florence

- Mandatory evacuation orders have expanded to more counties across North Carolina as Hurricane Florence barrels toward the Carolinas.

Orders were issued for Duck, Southern Shores, Kitty Hawk, Nags Head, South Nags Head, Kill Devil Hills, East Lake, Manns Harbor, and Stumpy Point beginning at 7 a.m. Tuesday, September 11.

North Carolina Emergency Management announced on Tuesday more areas that are now under a mandatory evacuation in the state. Those are: 

  • Beaufort County (update: voluntary evacuation*) 
  • Dare County 
  • Pamlico County
  • Tyrrell County

Beach areas under mandatory evacuations: 

  • Atlantic 
  • Indian 
  • Emerald Isle 
  • Pine Knoll Shores 
  • Ocracoke
  • Carolina
  • Kure
  • Wrightsville
  • Topsail
  • Currituck Outer Banks (visitors) 
  • Oak Island (visitors)
  • Holden (visitors) 

RELATED: Hurricane Florence prep: smartphone apps to help you stay safe

RELATED: Evacuation orders issued for NC coastal counties due to Hurricane Florence

Around 7:30 p.m. Monday, Governor Roy Cooper's office released a list of the coastal counties under both voluntary evacuations and mandatory evacuations. Those areas include: 

  • Bertie County – voluntary evacuation of waterfront and low-lying areas effective Wednesday, Sept 12
  • Brunswick County - voluntary evacuation of unincorporated areas effective Tuesday, Sept 11; mandatory evacuation of low-lying and flood-prone areas, people in substandard or mobile homes effective Tuesday, Sept 11
  • Currituck County - mandatory evacuation for Currituck Outer Banks (Corolla and Carova) effective 7am Tuesday, Sept 11 
  • Dare County - mandatory evacuation for Hatteras Island effective noon Monday, Sept 10; mandatory evacuation for entire county effective 7am Tuesday, Sept 11
  • Hyde County - mandatory evacuation for visitors to Ocracoke effective Monday, Sept. 10; mandatory evacuation for residents to Ocracoke effective Tuesday, Sept 11
  • New Hanover County - mandatory evacuation for UNCW
  • Onslow County – voluntary evacuation of unincorporated areas and Surf City effective Monday, Sept 10; mandatory evacuation of Topsail Beach effective Tuesday, Sept 11

Latest on Hurricane Florence live on Facebook: 

Up Next:


Stories you may be interested in -- includes Advertiser Stories